Childhood memories – My Vacation to New York

For a writing assignment, at Catholic elementary school, we were asked to pen a one page story about a summer adventure. So, naturally I wrote about our long family trip to the east coast. I was 9 years old at the time of this memorable vacation.

My Vacation

by Timmy Knight

statue of liberty may 1969
Statue of Liberty in 1969

“On my vacation I went to Canada to see Niagara Falls. When I was there I went in a tunnel that went under the falls. That night I went to Syracuse, New York and saw Ted Mack. Then I went to Allentown, Pennsylvania, to meet my 96-year-old great grandfather. He was born in Ireland.

“Then I went to New York City, where I went to Central Park, Rockefeller Center, NBC-TV studios, the RCA Building, the United Nations Building, the Museums of Art and Natural History, and the Statue of Liberty. I also rode the subway and the Staten Island Ferry. Then I went to tour Washington, D.C.”

 

Wow, what a trip! It brings back fond memories. You can see that I just stuck with the facts, although I still remember lots details of this family adventure. Here are a few notes…

Who was Ted Mack?

Ted Mack Amateur Hour
Auditions for Ted Mack Amateur Hour

Auditions for the Amateur Hour were generally held in New York’s Radio City Music Hall. Ted Mack, a talent scout, directed the entertaining show. Watch a 1969 Ted and Mack Amateur Hour video clip.

Are we there yet?

In 1969, our family of six took a long road trip to the east coast in our modern Buick station wagon, featuring a skylight – great for viewing the tall skyscrapers of New York City. Looking back on this vacation, I noticed how many things I experienced for the first time. I certainly was in awe of Niagara Falls and the Big Apple.

Niagara Falls

dry American Falls 1969
American Falls – dry for repair in 1969

Niagara Falls - dewatered American Falls 1969

We visited Canada to view the impressive Horseshoe Falls – located on the border of the United States and Canada. In 1969, the American Falls were dry for repair. Read The Day Niagra Falls Went Dry.

“Pop”

Pop, my great-grandfather was an avid baseball fan. He was known as one of the oldest Mets fan at time when the team won the World Series in 1969.

Read about Peter A. Kenny, “Pop”

Thanks to my younger sister, Caroline, for sending me a box of old photos, artwork, and stories from my childhoods days in Columbia, Missouri.

 

Leave a comment